CA Car Safety Seat Law


There seems to be a lot of confusion from providers that I know about the newer California car safety seat laws so here they are, plain and simple.
Children under the age of 8 years old must be properly buckled into a car seat or booster in the back seat.
Children over the age of 8 years old, or who are 4'9" or taller, can use the car's regular seat belt if it fits properly with the lap belt low on the child's hips, touching the upper thighs, and if the shoulder belt crosses the center of the child's chest.  If the child is not tall enough for the seat belt to fit properly then the child must ride in a booster or car seat regardless of the child's age or height. 
Of course everyone in the car must be buckled up properly.  California is getting pretty stiff when it comes to children in cars and for every child that is 16 years old or younger who isn't properly secured in a car, parents (if they are in the car) or drivers can be fined at least $475 per child and get a point on their driver's record. 
Don't get a ticket!  If you transport the children and your clients forget or don't want to leave a car seat or booster with you at daycare you can just go out and buy one to keep for yourself.  Booster seats are as little as $15 now for the backless versions and the high-back booster seats run as little as $20 in some places.  Car seats run more but $100 for a car seat sounds better than $475 and an increase in your car insurance premium. 


Post a Comment